I’ve been watching

Yea, I have. Watching videos, and more importantly – watching the people I play with. One of the videos I see pop up a lot on YouTube a lot is “10 things gamers hate”, and various versions regarding specific games. Today, I think I’ll take a swing at something that has been on my mind for a while.

I think the thing that gets my guff the most when I’m playing a game (especially multiplayer) is when other people can’t seem to grasp the core mechanics of a game. Now, let me preface the rant that’s about to take place by saying:

I accept that there are different people of varying skill levels playing every game. And by no means do I expect them all to be at the same level as me – frankly unless they’re devoting the same amount of time I am, there’s a good chance that’s not even possible. And I’m sure most will agree – amount of time spent playing does not equal skill level. I will also say I don’t have any expectations that people spend as much time watching strategy/developer videos either.

With that said: I really can’t understand it. I’m going to use Overwatch as my prevailing example because I do play¬†a lot of Overwatch.

Now, I get that CoD and BF are the biggest online games and have been for some time. I get that the majority of online FPS players have or do play one of those two regularly. But here’s the thing: Games like Overwatch do not operate on the same principles! This is really where my frustration sets in.

Overwatch, for those of you who don’t play it, is primarily a team, objective focused online FPS. Yes, you need to be good at the FPS part to be good at Overwatch. Being able to put the opposing team down is key. But understanding that going lone-gunner in a 6v6 match-up where the objective is to move a payload from point A to point C will not achieve that objective is the crucial element that seems to be overlooked. It’s so ridiculous that a page on Facebook called Overmeme exists, and is constantly posting stuff like this:

15826188_369047693452624_6940999198240568074_n

Of course, from my games, it doesn’t seem like anyone made that their resolution.

But deep down, I think what bothers me the most is people’s inability to understand the team mechanic. Even without the use of verbal communication, I think that the concept of playing together is totally possible. If everyone understands that there is a goal, and that the only way to achieve that goal is through co-operative play – then victory is usually assured. I mean, the game breaks down to three simple facts:

  1. There is a goal to be met
  2. Teamwork is imperative
  3. Everyone has a role, and everyone needs to understand their role

Making sure that these three things are met is all the game really asks. And, considering the majority of players are in the competitive games – one would expect this to go without saying. In fact – if you’re going to play competitive, I would hope people would familiarise themselves with things like competitive metas, good team composition, etc. But, failing those two things, the core basics should go without saying. But it is often not the case. People don’t protect support characters, healers focus on healing their friends rather than crucial roles like the tank and the biggest one is the people who only play for themselves. The latter being the most common. Overwatch is not a death match. There is no death match mode. Everything requires that those three principles be met. If not – you can basically guarantee a loss.

Now, some of you are probably thinking that I’m taking the game too seriously. And, maybe that’s true. But like anything you invest time into, you want the people you do it with to put in the same level of effort that you do. Videogames are no different.

Till next week fans.

– The Ego

4 thoughts on “I’ve been watching

    • Hey,

      Thanks for the comment. I am on Facebook, I usually post the link in most blogs, but you can find me here: https://www.facebook.com/theegogames/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

      I will look at the page you linked. I believe you’re associated with creators.co (which I signed up on after being asked to) but I haven’t posted there yet because I’m waiting on some graphics someone is making for me so I can brand my blog there (as well as FB and Twitter).

      I would definitely be happy to share with your community.

      – The Ego

      • Yes, it is! Will be happy to help you out with anything you need. But yeah, you should definitely post in the FB group, lots of other gaming writers and enthusiasts there who will read your articles.

      • I’m not sure how the messaging system on here works, but I did send you a question regarding your FB page that I would require an answer about before posting. Let me know when you have some time.

Leave a Reply

