Switch to 2017

Happy new year readers.

I hope everyone got all of the games they were hoping for, and took some time to play through some of their backlog. I took some time off to recharge my batteries as far as keeping this up, so I appreciate you picking back up with me.

As I’m sure many of you were, I eagerly anticpated the Nintendo Switch announcement. So, I’m sort of live-blogging while they live reveal. I’ll share with you some of my initial impressions:

Let’s get the facts out of the way:

We’re looking at a March 3rd release date and an intial price of 300$ in NA (I’m assuming more in Canada). It will have two configurations, one with standard grey controllers and one with a red and blue – no games included in either bundle. Apparently we will be getting a system with a portable battery life between 2-6 hours, and I’m assuming that depends on network connectivitiy. Local multiplayer matches will take place over WiFi, rather than Bluetooth, with the ability to connect up to 8 consoles at a time. And, for the first time, we will get a competitive online service, which Nintendo is offering for free until fall 2017, and then will switch to a pay-to-use system afterwards.

My impressions so far:

  • The new HD rumble seems like it’ll be pretty cool. Though they could have done a much better job explaining it. I feel like a lot of info was lost in translation. Oh, and speaking of translation: Nintendo needs to hire some better translators. The guys tasked with it were appalling at best. Boring, no personality and the guy translating for the weirdo from Grasshopper just needs to stop.
  • And on the note of the Grasshopper – that guy was too much.
  • 1-2 switch and Arms look super hokey. Even for tech demos. I was hoping Nintendo was going to forgo that kind of thing this time around and focus on a solid gaming platform – but they had to go that way I guess. They make the VR tech demos look well thought out.
  • When Reggie Fils-Amie is the most charismatic at your press conference – you done fucked up.
  • I did like how the explanation of the origin Switch talked about the DNA taken from all of Nintendo’s consoles throughout the years.
  • ZELDA LAUNCH TITLE!

Ok, now that it’s over I’ll try and organise my thoughts a little bit better.

So overall I thought it was a pretty good presentation.

There were a lot of ups and downs over the course of the conference. The 3rd party announcements were weird. Octopath Traveller looked great and was a pretty old school/new school Square Enix title. Some of the others though…can’t say I’ll be jumping on any of them.

The first party announcements were good. No Pokemon announcements kind of let me down. I was hoping to see something. Oh, and no Mario Kart either? Meh. The new Mario looks fun, but super gimmicky. I mean, his hat is alive. And he can throw it. Not sure what to say about that…

Hardware-wise: I think it’s exactly what I expected it to be. The graphics are about where I generally place Nintendo. The controllers look cool, but they also look really small. The new HD rumble is a feature I didn’t expect to hear so much about. I mean, it’s great. I think it’ll improve  the tactile experience.

One thing, from the hardware perspective, that they didn’t go into was hard drive size. They did mention the ability to take pictures and eventually video – so that is going to be something I’m eagerly awaiting to find out. Not that I expect I’ll be recording much Mario.

I guess I’ll leave it with this: I went into the announcement thinking that the Switch would be a day one purchase for me. Today I’m a little more on the fence. Though I really, really want to get the Zelda game as soon as possible. It’ll take some thought.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

