Say bye bye

That’s what I just said to the 50$ that was in my wallet. So Sony announces that some PS2 classics are going to be playable on PS4. And it’s not just any games, no. Grand Theft Auto 3, Grand Theft Auto: Vice City and Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. Really Sony? Really Rockstar? Why would you do it to me. Especially right before Christmas!?

But yea. I can’t tell you how excited I am. So they remastered them. Brought the graphics up to 1080p and added trophy support. Everything there is beautiful music to my ears.

5db26ce5bbf2

I am looking forward to putting on my blue leisure suit, watching Lance Vance dance and ruling Vice City with the Harwood butcher. I deft you to look at that picture and not smile.

If you are one of the few people out there, and I know there are a few of you, who haven’t played through these games – you need to scrape the cash together, and play through them in sequence. I don’t care if you have to donate blood, or turn in tin cans – do it. Do it now. Stop reading, and go do it. For those of you still reading, all I can say is: Finally!

With all of the remastering being done for the current gen consoles, I don’t know why it took so long for this to happen. I can think of about five games off of the top of my head that didn’t need to move to current gen. To think that this took this long, it’s baffling.

You know what makes me the happiest seeing this? The thought that if these sell well, we might be able to take a trip back to Vice City in the future. I know that the games have kind of gone out of sequence, GTA 4 being set in Liberty, and then 5 in San Andreas, but Vice City has always been my favourite locale. Even if those characters don’t spill over, like they didn’t in the other new games, heading back there – regardless of the time period, Vice City rocks. And, even as much as I’d love to see some new cities, I think we need to do right by the trilogy that started it all before we move on. Therapists would call it closure.

My only concern is the graphics. I still have my PS2, and the trilogy, all safe and secure in my basement. But I find more and more that I’m having a hard time stepping back into the jagged graphics of the older generation consoles and their software. I’m sure that they took the time and did it right, but I haven’t been able to find any good videos to give me an idea of what I’m getting myself into. I think this is going to be one of those situations where you jump in with both feet, or don’t bother. Hell, let’s be honest, shall we? It could look like total crap – and I would still buy it. Most of you would probably agree. This is a really great opportunity for gamers. I imagine that a lot of people out there. There are a bunch of people who haven’t had the luxury of playing through the original games. They can get an idea where this who thing came from. And no, it won’t have the same gusto that the newer games do, but that’s not to say that there isn’t something worthwhile there. Trust me when I say this (and I imagine that’s something most of you do anyway, since you’re reading my blog) – these games are next level.

My only regret is that they didn’t wait till the off season to drop these great games. It would be a lot easier to justify if Fallout wasn’t permanently loaded in my PS4 (and a time where I want an X-Box One…) I’ll take it though.

P.S – Final thought: Drive by shootings to Foreigner. Yes, that is a thing. A cherished memory for me.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

