Shudder

I feel a little dirty admitting this. I kind of want an Xbone…

Well, not really. But I’ve been trying to keep myself apprised with what’s coming out. Saw an add for a game I didn’t know a whole lot about – other than having seen it listed on Amazon. The trailer was pretty cool. Looks fun. The game in question is Re-Core. It’s one of two new games, sadly exclusive to the console I don’t own – nor did I have any interest in owning. The second game being Scalebound. But these games look pretty awesome. To be fair, I don’t really know a whole lot about either game, beyond the whole “looking cool” thing.

Scalebound looks cool, like I said. The core concept, being bound to a huge dragon both in combat and story, is something that definitely appeals to me. Being a huge D&D player. Though, despite the cool factor, it has some pretty cheesy elements. Like naming the planet “Draconis” and the protagonist being a Dante (circa Ninja Theory DMC) clone. So, yea, there’s that. But the cheese, in this case, isn’t enough to discourage me from wanting to play it.

Re-Core has a real Odyssey to the West feel to it. I guess it’s kind of weird that I’d stumble across two games that look and feel like two other Ninja Theory games. I like the transitional side-kick. Looks like the game could potentially have a large amount of customisation. At the very least it’s likely to enough variety to make the gameplay appealing.

Hopefully in the coming weeks, I’ll be able to get some more info and make a more informed decision on whether or not they’re worth while.

I guess the question I have to ask myself is: How many games make purchasing another console for? So far, I’m up to three. The two mentioned, and Sunset Overdrive. That’s something I’ve wanted from day one, but obviously, it’s tough to justify a 400$ console for one game – even if that game is amazing (and let’s face facts, it’s an Insomniac game, it’s amazing by default). I just wish Sony had have taken a minute, pulled their collective head’s out of their collective asses and just let them retain the rights to the IP. I mean, come on Sony…Ratchet and Clank has been a huge seller across multiple platforms. Why not just let them keep it? I get that they’re losing money in every other forum, but they could have sold consoles on that game alone. Ugh. Oh man, I completely forgot about Neverwinter being free on Xbone…And Fable Legends (Now offered in Monlyneux light format). So that’s five games. I’ve bought consoles for way less than that in the past. Why does Xbone have to have things I want? Why?! Especially a D&D based game. That’s my life-blood.

So, is three games enough? I know they’ll eventually get some more exclusives. I’ll always remain true to my PS4. It’s not quite cheating, right? I mean, isn’t it more like having coffee with your ex, but not telling your wife about it? Yea, that’s probably a good analogy – but not a situation that would actually work out without getting dropkicked.

All I know is now I need to get some satisfaction. Hopefully, by the time Re-Core and Scalebound are hitting the market, Black Friday or Boxing day will have passed and potentially given me a decent (read extreme) enough discount to make the purchase worth while.

This is really quite the dilemma for me. My 360 has been collecting dust in my closet for a few years now. I couldn’t even give it away to charity at Christmas! I said I’d never buy another console from them, but, it’s looking more and more like I’m going to be breaking my word, and for the second time today. Someone left my store with a Steelseries product, and that made me very angry. And you wouldn’t like me when I’m angry.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

