The razor’s edge

Ok, so I find myself walking a thin, thin line these days. Even when I find a game at a price that I’m happy with – there is always dlc…

Now, here’s the problem: I like DLC in theory. It shows a developer’s willingness to continue supporting their product and that they want to give fans their money’s worth. And, to that end, I certainly understand the need/desire to be paid for that effort.

At the same time, though, when I do get a game cheap, and then I get home, turn on the PS4, load the PSN store and see that there is over 40$ of DLC, it’s kind of a turn off.

So I picked up Destiny tonight.

Now I played the beta, mechanically – one of the best shooters I’ve ever played. Bungie really knows their business. Story-wise, lacking to a degree that I’m not entirely comfortable with. But I have friends playing it, and I’d like to be able to play with them. I’ve also been bludgeoned with the concept by just about everyone that surrounds me. I’ve never told them they were wrong – but from what I’d experienced and what I’d read, I didn’t think I’d end up buying it. But here we are…

But therein lies the problem. So I bought it, but I’m having huge pangs of buyers remorse. The Taken King, due out September, is the latest expansion with all of the DLC packed in. Here we are, just a few days out from August, and I’m thinking: Do I keep this version, buy the DLC (ideally when/if it goes on sale) or do I just wait out the latest disc version and hopefully find that at a cheaper price?

Like I said – I like DLC in theory. The idea of the company giving me more for a game I love as time goes on is awesome and I do feel like they should be paid for their time. However, DLC releases are not like they used to be. They feel a little more like this:

Destiny and Evolve are great examples. Want to keep raiding? Want to have all of the content to make the game worth while? Drop 60$. Oh, you like these new hunters and monsters 5$ for each hunter (or a whopping 5$ saved if you buy the first season pass at 15$) and 10$ for the monster (oh, did I mention there is a second season pass?). That’s 40$ for characters that could/should have been on the disc from the get-go.

Like the picture says – expansions are one thing, but charging for content that should be a given? That’s despicable.

Companies like Blizzard are doing it right (though, monthly fees suck). They release a new expansion every year or so. It’s a big up front cost, but then that’s basically it. It’s supported by new patches, changes and content as time goes. You’re not paying for the ability to pick up a new class.

I think DLC needs some re-tooling. In the case of Destiny, I guess you’re technically buying expansions – but that’s a lot of expansions so far. Three in a year, at 20$ a piece – it’s basically the cost of a new game. Having not played it, I guess I’ll have to assume it’s a large chunk of content and totally worth the cost.

Realistically – DLC should be cosmetic. Or large enough that picking it up is totally worth it and easily validated without having to do extensive research on what was actually added. Like I said – DLC good. Micro-transactions make sense in the space. That said – things like skins, costumes (like Littlebigplanet) and the like are perfect. They don’t affect the playability or access to stuff that should be or need to be included in the original game – and they’re priced such that if you do go that route – you’re not breaking the bank.

The problem is too many companies are doing it and they think we’re just sheep for the sheering. I won’t say baaaaaaah much longer.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

