Double/Triple/Quadruple Dipping

As a rule, I’ve always played my games one at a time. Maybe I’ve been corrupted by folksy wisdom/cliches about finishing what’s on my plate before moving on.

Lately, I’ve been doing the exact opposite. It definitely has the drawbacks that I thought it would. The more I steep myself in the games that don’t require me to remember story elements, the more I forget the important story elements of the games I’m playing when I’m “taking a break”. So, it is problematic. However, it’s nice to have a bit of variety.

I’d been playing Witcher 3 pretty heavily. It’s a great game, don’t get me wrong. The combat style took a bit of getting used to, but once I got the hang of it, I liked it. The story is good, but having not played the originals, I’m finding it’s taking a fairly big investment of time to get going. Probably not helped by my deciding to play the game on Death March. Dying a lot tends to slow things down a bit.

That being said, the investment of time needed is not something I always have…

So it’s nice to have games where I can turn it on, play for a half an hour or less and then turn it off. Because staying up till the middle of the night because I’m “trying to finish this part” isn’t the best option.

Evolve is proving to be a good diversion. That kind of sounds like I’m writing it off and I’m not. It’s incredibly fun. Like I said in the other post I wrote, unlocking characters is proving to be a bit tedious. And having to pay to unlock the rest, doubly so. That being said, I’m having a blast. The differentiation between characters in the same class adds a lot of depth.

So, currently, I’m bouncing between Evolve, Far Cry 4, Borderlands 2 and the Pre-Sequel. Even within those games, I’m not sticking to a single character. I’ve already beaten Borderlands 2, so I’m running through it the second time with a different class. I picked it up late into the release, because I wanted the GOTY edition (and I wanted it at a good price…30$ on sale), so my first playthrough was with Krieg, The Psycho. I have to say – it was a pretty awesome choice. I imported my save file over from the PS3, but I left him be for now and I’m trying the other DLC class – the Mechromancer.

I specifically waited for the Pre-Sequel on the PS4. I started as By the way, kudos to 2K Australia and Gearbox for making sure, several times, that I actually intended to play as Claptrap. I digress.

I was talking to a co-worker about the other classes, and the Lawbringer sounded pretty cool. So I started a new save file today with the new character.

I’m working on multiple tiers of attention deficit now.

So, all of that to say that I’m breaking my rules and I’m loving it. It’s kind of freeing. At least in the sense that I can just do what I want. Playing a mission here or there in Far Cry is all I really need to keep pushing through what I have divined about the story so far. Borderlands – not all that complex. Just keep note of the best butt and fart jokes so I have anecdotes to relate later on.

Just being able to game when I have free time, instead of considering the amount of time I need to make any real progress, is amazing. Like I said – freeing. I don’t have to feel like I’m not being productive. I don’t need to say “Oh, I want to play, but I have to finish up quickly because I have to do the dishes/walk the dog/run those errands or meet so and so at said time. Bailing mid-match in Evolve is bad, but not the end of the world. The game will finish itself.

Now, to start Batman. Mmmhmmmmm.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

