Can’t we all just get along?

So, admittedly, I do break a lot of balls when it comes to Microsoft. Now, I wouldn’t label myself as a fanboy. Yes, I primarily play on Sony consoles. And yes, as a general rule, I’m not crazy about X Box in any form. I guess it stems from the myriad of problems I had on my 360. Which, in part, is due to EB Games. That company will always live in infamy for me. So, it’s Christmas a few years back, I asked for an X Box and a digital camera. I changed my mind at the last minute, and I just wanted a 360. Luckily, I have a loving a generous family, who also gave me close to what I needed to pay for it myself. So I did. My rational was: I wanted to play Fable. One of my friends had gotten me hooked on the stellar title. I bought the arcade edition, and I was told I could play Fable as is. Turned out, I needed a HDD that had to be bought separately. Strike one. Mostly on EB, but Microsoft nonetheless. They also had the fact that the PS3 was still obscenely priced at the time. Strike two: RROD aka Red ring of death for the non-initiated. Strike three: RROD the second. Now my 360 is just sitting in my closet.

All that to say: I’ve been really happy with my Playstation experiences.

Now, I don’t think one console is necessarily better than the other. At the end of the day – if it plays games, and you like those particular games – buy it and play.

If someone asks, I know what my answer to the best console is, but what makes it that, is generally a personal decision.

I think the real distinction between gamers comes when you start getting to the so called “master race” players. PC gamers, for the uninitiated.

Yes, admittedly, your games look better, run faster and play smoother. But, 1) I only have to pay 400$ for my console and I don’t need to upgrade every year. When it comes down to cost, console players pay more for the games, but less overall for the hardware. I would love to have the ability to custom build the consoles, to an extent. Start off with some more RAM and definitely a bigger HDD. Sort of the way that Apple/Dell allow customers to “custom order” their computers by selecting the upgrades they way. That would be great. And, it would probably save me some money in the long run.

I guess what bothers me is that there is a divide. I know that branding, as in anything, always plays a part. Xbox vs PS vs PC. That’s what it all boils down to.

I know that cross play will probably never be a thing – at least not to that extent. But the idea is nice.

I think the time has come that we need to call a truce. Erase the line drawn down the middle of the house a la I Love Lucy, and move forward as a community. Does it really make a difference how you game? The quality of the games that we choose to support is what should drive the industry forward, not which brand of hardware that we play on.

I guess I should say sorry to Nintendo for not including them in this “war”, but frankly, they’re totally on the sidelines with their pom poms as of now.

So yes, I am a Playstation guy. And I work with a lot of Microsoft guys and they all get together and play Destiny, or whatever it is they’re all one now. Would I like to be able to play with them all? Yes. Obviously. However, I don’t see that divide closing any time soon. At the end of the day, what matters, is when we discuss the better games out there, we can agree on qualities of the games that bring us together without fussing over hardware.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

