Not going to lie

I’m kind of regretting not pre-ordering Rainbow Six: Siege.

What’s funny, if you knew how I generally pick up my games, you wouldn’t think this is an issue I would have.

The way I’ve done things, at least for the last last couple of years, is the old throw the spaghetti at the wall trick. I basically pre-order everything that piques my interest even the least little bit and what I don’t want, I return. This year’s tally was somewhere around the 18 game mark. Frankly, some of those games, I don’t know how they’ll turn out, but I’ll burn that bridge when I cross it.

I’m not sure how it happened either. Missing R6: Siege. It’s something to say that a game that looks this awesome slipped through the cracks for me. I know that the E word can be a tumultuous time for gamers. There is a lot going on and a lot of new things being shown, so, I guess I’ll have to chalk that up to my being overwhelmed. Not too big of a shock, I suppose. There were so many big announcements that it was tough to keep everything straight. And, like I said in my earlier blogs, there ended up being quite a few games that I wouldn’t have considered otherwise. Plus, well, Fallout 4. Yea. Don’t think I need to say more than that.

I guess, in the end, the Tom Clancy games ended up being the biggest shocker for me. I’d never considered any of the games as something I would have picked up in the past. Especially a Rainbow Six game. I remember playing it on the PS1 way back when. Didn’t strike me as something that would be able to hold my interest for more than a demo run. And Splinter Cell? Well, it wasn’t doing stealth the way anyone really hoped it would. I know there are a lot of fans of the Tom Clancy games, and I’m probably forsaking some kind of holy gamer covenant (of which I guess would be my second major transgression – the first being that I’ve never played FF7). That being said, please hold the  torches and pitchforks till the end.

Like I said, shame on me. But now I’m thinking: This might end up being one of those games I break my rule for and buy day one. Time will tell whether or not the game will be worth the price of admission, but I have high hopes. Of course, the part that’s yet to be field tested is: How good will the game be when you factor out the communication? We all know that that system is going to break down almost immediately. It will, however, definitely be one of those games that playing with your friends will be the gamer equivalent of gathering around the water-cooler.

I just wonder whether or not this will be a game that will end up horribly frustrating when you try and play online alone and everyone thinks that they’re Stalone. Honestly, I think there is enough substance that even if you do get those players, and you’re losing online, that it will likely be pretty fun.

Looking back at that, and the other Tom Clancy games that got me all hot and bothered, the reason comes down to choice. Being able to approach a situation in any way is pretty appealing. It leaves a lot up to the gamer to build on tactics and strategy. It’s not one of those games that you need to sit and read a walkthrough, or post on playstationtrophies.org. Want to blow in through the roof? Or, repel in through a window? Sounds good.

One can only hope that it builds up from there. Ubisoft does have a tendency to oversell features in their games, and come up short on launch day. I guess, worst case scenario, I’ll pick it up after the first month, when the end user has found all of the un-fixed bugs.

– The Ego

One thought on “Not going to lie

Leave a Reply

