If I say please?

Sorry for the delayed posting. I’ve been out of commission for the last three days. I tried to write something, but it ended up somewhere between a grocery list and a Thompson-esque flashback.

I’m not going to lie here gamers:

I’d probably pillage a village for Square-Enix to make another Final Fantasy Tactics. Hell, I’d settle for an HD remaster/remake.

I think that Tactics is one of the closest games to a Shakespearian epic as any game will ever get. And don’t get me wrong –  there are better written games out there. But that game has everything. If Machiavelli and Shakes used fusion or had a thought baby, that’d be FFT. The game has everything:

Politics
Murder
Family betrayals
War
Religion
Magic
Dragons

What more could one ask?

You know, as I’m writing this, I think I’ve re-bought that game at least four times…I used to rent it a couple times a month too, you know, in the 90’s when people still rented games. Man, I’m dating myself again. But yea. I bought it on PS1 used, it broke. Then I bought it again on PS1 to replace it. Again on the PSN and on mobile. I don’t think I’ve ever bought the same game that many times before (and yea, that includes the latest influx of re-releases and remasters).

I don’t think there’s been a game that’s impacted me as much as that game did. I remember finishing it for the first time and for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure, stop reading now. Seriously.

*SPOILERS*

Ok, you’ve seen it then. When they’re all standing around the grave of Ramza and Alma and everyone is sad, man. I won’t lie, I shed a few manly tears. And then they go by! Oh boy. That’s an ending. And if you were patient, and you saw Delita’s finale. That’s the good stuff there.

Try and watch this without flinching.

*SPOILERS OVER*

It’s so refreshing to be able to look back at some of those influential games. I think that’s something that the gaming industry needs to do from time to time. I find that the indie developers that hearken back to the good ‘ole days are the people who are able to take that perspective and work with it.

The big guys only seem to be able to see the big sellers from the last generation. Which, don’t get me wrong, is great in it’s own special way. Like when your dog brings you a dirty stick, but looks so happy doing it, you can’t help but smile and take it from him.

There are some games I’m glad they’re remastering. Like Darksiders 2. I think THQ was too far into closing that they couldn’t work out all of the problems that game had. And, given the state of affairs, I wasn’t dropping extra moolah on DLC. No sir. But now that it’s in the hands of a company that has the drive and support to potentially push the franchise further, I’ll slide a few bills in their collective g-string.

I’m going to take a break and say: One thing I would want, more than just a remake, is someone to fix the awful localization. There are just too many grammar and word choice errors in it. It makes my brain hurt.

That aside – just tell me what I have to do to get the game done over, and I’ll do it. Make a Kickstarter, I’ll fund it. Base it on pre-orders, everyone I know is getting it as a stocking stuffer. Just please, make the little boy in me (that looks as weird written as it sounds aloud) happy once again and give me the chance to make a Monk/Ninja and a Black Wizard/Summoner with some badass looking graphics in 4K!

I’ve been good this year. I helped a lot of old ladies carry their groceries and acted extra nice to people I didn’t need to. Give me Tactics.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

