The Game-Guy

So, I’m The Game-Guy at work. It’s a title I wear proudly. It’s something I care about, something I take my time to get to know and keep abreast of what’s going on. It’s a good feeling. I like knowing that at the end of the day, the things I tell people are helpful and accurate. Because, let’s face it, there are a lot of places where that isn’t the case.

But, heavy hangs the crown.

Now, I feel like I need to preface this blog. This is not a complaint at all. I love that people value my opinion and buy or don’t buy on my say-so. But it can be trying at times.

With my backlog steadily boiling over, when those big games come up, people come to me and ask:

1. Have you played it yet?
2. How far in are you?
3. Is it worth buying?

Fair questions, the whole lot. But what do I do when something comes out and I just can’t find the nickels to rub together or the time to sneak in a few hours of gaming?

Batman: Arkham Knight came out this week. Of course, I pre-ordered it last year. I won’t lie, I’m pretty jacked up to play it. But that stupid, nagging voice that tells me the last thing I need right now is another game, is sounding off. The truth is, with a lot of games I pick up at launch, I probably won’t get to it for quite a while.

So, on the one had, the cheap bastard in me wants to return the game – yes, he’s somewhat appeased by my having been a smart shopper and pre-ordered when I could get a deal on it. I know it’ll go on sale sooner than later. So I could just wait and get it then.

But it’s problematic on two other hands. I want the game. I need to play it. Part of me wants to just put there other games I’ve started aside and just hop into that Batmobile. Then there’s other people to be concerned with.

In the case of a AAA title like Batman, I know I won’t regret keeping it and playing it. I mean, no one’s made a bad Batman game right *cough* Origins *cough*.

I’m definitely, definitely not the sort of person to be impacted by other people’s opinions regarding me, my life and so on. However, the mantle does require some maintenance. I don’t want to let down those customers or colleagues who turn to me to ask those important questions.

After all, I love being that guy.

The truth is too: watching the reviews will only take you so far.

I think the simple solution is that I should march into work, backlogged games in hand (or wheelbarrow as the situation would likely dictate) and just start plowing through them while they pay me. I don’t think anyone could give a better argument for “on-the-job training” than that. I probably wouldn’t be able to sell a lot, but I still think it’s a great plan.

So that’s about it. I find myself in the same predicament I laid out a few days ago.

I just need to reconcile the image of being the game guy, with the honest reality that I’m facing. I just can’t play it all. And, to a lesser extent, I don’t really want to. Akiba Strip won’t be gracing the shelves of the manor house any time soon.

And, don’t get me started on re-masters again. Handsome Collection: I hate you Gearbox. Putting Borderlands 2 in an appealing next-gen (ugh, that qualifier needs to go) format, I just want to hit/pay them. I guess it’ll give me the chance to try the Mechromancer class.

Like most things in my life, the title fits, but the work is pretty overwhelming.

Though if this is the worst problem I face on a day-to-day basis. I think that I will be able to survive it. Eventually, right?

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

