Picking the nits

When is Marvel going to get on board, find a developer like Rocksteady and pump out some MCU style games?

Like the title says, I’m going to pull at that annoying thread today.

I’m a Marvel super fan. I’ve been reading comics and collecting toys of my long time favourites and c-list villains alike for longer than I care to admit. So, when I go out and I see movies like Avenger: Age of Ultron or Guardians of the Galaxy. I can’t help but want more.

While there are a lot of critics, and hell, even movie-goers who lambaste the industry because two of every three movies these days is some caped-crusader. I guess I can see their point. Hollywood and the gaming industry have been pretty laissez-faire about coming up with some original ideas recently. Though, who can blame them? The movies rake in billions once their tied together with shirts, toys, happy meals and a branded soft-drink.

Not that I’m not happy about most of those things, because well, I am.

With Batman: Arkham Knight fresh on release, it leaves me wondering. The real question is at the beginning: Why can’t Marvel find someone to make them a decent game?

They do exist. They’re just few and far between. Beenox’s original Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions is something worth talking about. They took a beloved character and actually did something worthy of the title. Not sure what happened with the proceeding games, whether it was a lack of imagination, developing time or just a company resting on their laurels, but the games after that really, really sucked. And frankly, no one else has really put forth something worthy of their many franchises.

Caveat: Yes, the Ultimate Alliance games were pretty good. But not quite on the level I’m talking about. Pretty sure the only Batman game beat by the quality of those games was Origins, which I think most people had to hold their noses through.

Oh, and don’t even get me started on X-Men: Destiny. Oh, I bought it. Paid a whopping 10$ for it well into it’s release. I wanted to like it. I even defended it to other people. Really though, I think my nostalgia and general love of all things mutants is the only rationalisation that I could give.

So what’s stopping them? Disney has thrown their weight behind the company. Surely with all of that money, talent and charisma – they should be able to find one amazing studio to start getting them on the map. They already have their movie line-ups well into 2018. When are they going to go to a Ninja Theory or Bethesda – I’d even settle for a Ubisoft and tell them:

“We want you to do for us, what Rocksteady did for Batman”.

Am I doomed to only be able to see my favourite superheros depicted like this?:

It shouldn’t be all that hard. I’ve played plenty of games with enough panache to be able to produce something on the level of the MCU. I’m looking at you DMC or Enslaved: Oddessey to the West.

Go to Bethesda, kick in the door and throw partnership papers and money at them until they make you a Fallout quality Hulk game.

Go to Arkane studios or CD Projekt Red. They’ve both proved to be highly successful developers with a real knack for knowing the kinds of stories and features that appeal to today’s gamer.

Even a small studio like High Moon – they have the grapefruits where it counts. Transfomers: War for Cybertron was revolutionary. Yea, they kind of messed up Deadpool, but I think he’s one of the more challenging characters. And hey, they already have a deal worked out with Hasbro, so you’ve got your toy franchise.

Maybe I’m asking too much. I love comics. I love movies. I just want to be able to play some of my favourite characters in a game worthy of their greatness. I just don’t think it’s too tall of an order.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

