E3 – The Fallout edition

Wow. I mean, just, wow.

Fallout 4 is definitely the most impressive game across all boards. Is it too early to vote this game of the year? Honestly, Bethesda should just forgo the initial release and just call it Game of the Year edition on launch day. Todd Howard and the team at Bethesda are the Beatles of videogames. The only way they could get any better than they are is if Ken Levine joined the team. Which would be the gaming equivalent of doubling the Playboy centerfolds.

It’s genuinely refreshing to see a company take the best of all of their franchises, and what fans want, and putting it all into one masterful game. Despite the cost of games consistently rising in Canada, I can say without hesitation that I’d pay whatever they wanted for the game. Hell, I’ve got two separate pre-orders for the Collector’s Edition, just to make sure that I end up with one.

The quality of the game they’ve produced is especially refreshing in a time when the industry seems content to inundate us with nothing but remastered games. Sometimes I wonder if I’m dead and I’m in purgatory, forced to reply my favourite games over and over in slightly upgraded graphics.

When games like this come up, I often wonder why there are so few companies putting out this kind of quality. It’s either that they’re geniuses or everyone else is lazy. The truth probably lies somewhere in the middle. But yea, Todd Howard is my hero. I would lie down in a puddle for him or Ken Levine. There are so few games that go to the length that Fallout has to completely immerse the player into that world. Not to say there aren’t good games out there. I’m playing and own a lot of good games. Great, however, are few and far between. I also love the fact that Todd came right out and said “As far as stupid gimmicks go, this is the best fucking one I’ve ever seen”.

I think the funniest part of the release is that Tomb Raider is coming out on the same day. Don’t get me wrong, I’m looking forward to the new Tomb Raider game too. But, releasing on the same day as Fallout 4 and saying “we think we can hold our own”? You don’t air your series premiere during the Super Bowl.

– The Ego

Leave a Reply

